Does Cui replace SBU?

Does Cui replace SBU?

Controlled Unclassified Information (CUI) is a category of unclassified information within the U.S. Federal government. CUI replaces the labels For Official Use Only (FOUO), Sensitive But Unclassified (SBU), and Law Enforcement Sensitive (LES).


Covered Defense Information (CDI): Is a term defined in the DFAR clause 252

What DOD Instruction implements the DOD Cui programs?

DoDI 5200.48 implements the DOD CUI program as required by EO 13556.

What is Cui specific?

What is CUI Specified? A. The subset of CUI in which the authorizing law, regulation, or government-wide policy contains specific handling controls that it requires or permits agencies to use. – Correct Answer.

Is Cui still used?

Answer: Once agencies implement the CUI Program, legacy markings such as FOUO or SBU will no longer be used. In many cases what was previously marked as FOUO would align and be able to be marked as CUI. There are some information types currently marked as FOUO that may not qualify as CUI.

What is the purpose of ISOO CUI registry?

The CUI Registry is a catalogue of what the Executive branch should be protecting. The CUI Registry identifies all approved CUI categories and subcategories , provides general descriptions for each, identifies the basis for controls, establishes markings, and includes guidance on handling procedures.

Why GUI is popular than CUI?

Answer: A GUI can display graphics, symbols and other visual cues as opposed to strictly text, unlike the CUI. GUIs are much easier to navigate, as they make the use of a mouse possible. Therefore GUI is more popular than CUI.

What are examples of controlled unclassified information?


  • CUI Registry Categories.
  • Controlled technical information with military or space application.
  • Protected critical energy infrastructure information, including nuclear reactors and materials.
  • Export control information or materials.
  • Geodetic and geospatial information related to imagery intelligence.

What is a CUI category?

Established by Executive Order 13556, the Controlled Unclassified Information (CUI) program standardizes the way the Executive branch handles unclassified information that requires safeguarding or dissemination controls pursuant to and consistent with law, regulations, and Government-wide policies. Learn About CUI.

What are the six categories of controlled unclassified information?

This includes CUI identification, sharing, marking, safeguarding, storage, dissemination, destruction, and records management.

How do you use CUI classification?

Mandatory CUI markings for unclassified documents include: The acronym “CUI” at the top and bottom of each page • The CUI designation indicator. Do not add “UNCLASSIFIED” before ”CUI.” Do not add the CUI category to the top and bottom of the page.

Who can access controlled unclassified information?

Dissemination authorized only to (1) employees of United States Government Executive branch departments and agencies (as the agency is defined in 5 U.S.C. 105), or (2) armed forces personnel of the United States or Active Guard and Reserve (as defined in 10 USC 101).

Can unclassified data be released to the public?

Unclassified-Unlimited: Approved for public release.

How do you control the flow of Cui?

Firewalls and proxy servers can be used to control traffic flow. Typically, organizations will have a firewall between the internal network and the internet. Often multiple firewalls are used inside a network to create zones to separate sensitive data, business units or user groups.